| 1   | Senate Bill No. 475   |
|-----|---|
| 2   | (By Senators M. Hall and Carmichael)                              |
| 3   |   |
| 4   | [Introduced February 3, 2014; referred to the Committee on the    |
| 5   | Judiciary; and then to the Committee on Finance.]                 |
| 6   |   |
| 7   |   |
| 8   |   |
| 9   |   |
| L O | A BILL to amend and reenact §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, |
| L1  | 1931, as amended, relating to authorizing an additional           |
| L2  | circuit court judge for the fifth judicial circuit consisting     |
| L3  | of Mason, Jackson, Roane and Calhoun counties.                    |
| L 4 | Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:                |
| L 5 | That §51-2-1 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended,      |
| L 6 | be amended and reenacted to read as follows:                      |
| L 7 | ARTICLE 2. CIRCUIT COURTS; CIRCUIT JUDGES.                        |
| L 8 | §51-2-1. Judicial circuits; terms of office; legislative findings |
| L 9 | and declarations; elections; terms of court.                      |
| 20  | (a) The state shall be divided into the following judicial        |
| 21  | circuits with the following number of judges:                     |
| 22  | (1) The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio shall constitute     |
| 23  | the first circuit and shall have four judges;                     |

- 1 (2) The counties of Marshall, Tyler and Wetzel shall
- 2 constitute the second circuit and shall have two judges;
- 3 (3) The counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie shall
- 4 constitute the third circuit and shall have one judge;
- 5 (4) The counties of Wood and Wirt shall constitute the fourth 6 circuit and shall have three judges;
- 7 (5) The counties of Calhoun, Jackson, Mason and Roane shall 8 constitute the fifth circuit and shall have two three judges;
- 9 (6) The county of Cabell shall constitute the sixth circuit 10 and shall have four judges;
- 11 (7) The county of Logan shall constitute the seventh circuit
  12 and shall have two judges;
- 13 (8) The county of McDowell shall constitute the eighth circuit 14 and shall have two judges;
- 15 (9) The county of Mercer shall constitute the ninth circuit 16 and shall have three judges;
- 17 (10) The county of Raleigh shall constitute the tenth circuit
  18 and shall have three judges;
- 19 (11) The counties of Greenbrier and Pocahontas shall 20 constitute the eleventh circuit and shall have two judges;
- 21 (12) The county of Fayette shall constitute the twelfth 22 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 23 (13) The county of Kanawha shall constitute the thirteenth

- 1 circuit and shall have seven judges;
- 2 (14) The counties of Braxton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall
- 3 constitute the fourteenth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 4 (15) The county of Harrison shall constitute the fifteenth
- 5 circuit and shall have three judges;
- 6 (16) The county of Marion shall constitute the sixteenth
- 7 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 8 (17) The county of Monongalia shall constitute the seventeenth
- 9 circuit and shall have two judges: Provided, That effective July
- 10 1, 2009, said circuit court shall have three judges.
- 11 (18) The county of Preston shall constitute the eighteenth
- 12 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 13 (19) The counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute the
- 14 nineteenth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 15 (20) The county of Randolph shall constitute the twentieth
- 16 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 17 (21) The counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall
- 18 constitute the twenty-first circuit and shall have two judges;
- 19 (22) The counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton shall
- 20 constitute the twenty-second circuit and shall have two judges;
- 21 (23) The counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan shall
- 22 constitute the twenty-third circuit and shall have five judges;
- 23 (24) The county of Wayne shall constitute the twenty-fourth

- 1 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 2 (25) The counties of Lincoln and Boone shall constitute the
- 3 twenty-fifth circuit and shall have two judges;
- 4 (26) The counties of Lewis and Upshur shall constitute the
- 5 twenty-sixth circuit and shall have one judge;
- 6 (27) The county of Wyoming shall constitute the twenty-seventh
- 7 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 8 (28) The county of Nicholas shall constitute the twenty-eighth
- 9 circuit and shall have one judge;
- 10 (29) The county of Putnam shall constitute the twenty-ninth
- 11 circuit and shall have two judges;
- 12 (30) The county of Mingo shall constitute the thirtieth
- 13 circuit and shall have one judge; and
- 14 (31) The counties of Monroe and Summers shall constitute the
- 15 thirty-first circuit and shall have one judge.
- 16 (b) The Kanawha County circuit court shall be a court of
- 17 concurrent jurisdiction with each single judge circuit where the
- 18 sitting judge in the single judge circuit is unavailable by reason
- 19 of sickness, vacation or other reason.
- 20 (c) Any judge in office on the effective date of the
- 21 reenactment of this section shall continue as a judge of the
- 22 circuit as constituted under prior enactments of this section,
- 23 unless sooner removed or retired as provided by law, until December

- 1 31, 2008.
- 2 (d) The term of office of all circuit court judges shall be
- 3 for eight years. The term of office for all circuit court judges
- 4 elected during the general election conducted in the year 2008
- 5 shall commence on January 1, 2009, and end on December 31, 2016.
- 6 (e) For election purposes, in every judicial circuit having
- 7 two or more judges there shall be numbered divisions corresponding
- 8 to the number of circuit judges in each circuit. Each judge shall
- 9 be elected at large from the entire circuit. In each numbered
- 10 division of a judicial circuit, the candidates for nomination or
- 11 election shall be voted upon and the votes cast for the candidates
- 12 in each division shall be tallied separately from the votes cast
- 13 for candidates in other numbered divisions within the circuit. The
- 14 candidate receiving the highest number of the votes cast within a
- 15 numbered division shall be nominated or elected, as the case may
- 16 be.
- 17 (f) Judges serving a judicial circuit comprised of four or
- 18 more counties with two or more judges shall not be residents of the
- 19 same county.
- 20 (g) The Supreme Court of Appeals shall, by rule, establish the
- 21 terms of court of circuit judges.

NOTE: The purpose of this bill is to authorize an additional

circuit court judge for the fifth judicial circuit consisting of Mason, Jackson, Roane and Calhoun Counties.

Strike-throughs indicate language that would be stricken from the present law, and underscoring indicates new language that would be added.